Texting & Driving Laws in Oregon

August 14, 2018 | By

texting and driving

Alexyss’s Story 

The story of Alexyss Therwanger is what prompted officials in Oregon to change the laws. Alexyss was a 19-year-old who was killed as the result of texting while driving. She lost control of her car and collided with another vehicle. Two other people were severely-injured as a result of this. The accident occurred on May 20, 2016.

The Oregon State Police and Oregon Department of Transportation have teamed up to create a PSA about the dangers of texting and driving. The PSA features Alexyss mother. She is urging people to keep their eyes on the road and avoid any type of distraction.

Distracted Driving Laws 

Oregon’s cell phone law went into effect on October 1, 2017. It is illegal to use any type of electronic device while you are driving. This also includes tablets, GPS devices and laptops. People who are caught violating this law will be charged a fine. However, this law may be waived for first-time offenders.

There are some exceptions to this new law. If you are over the age of 18, then you can use a hands-free device. You can also use an electronic device if you are parked safely. People can use their cell phones to solicit medical help. Additionally, people who are required to use an electronic device for their job can do so while they are driving.

A first-time offender will be fined $1,000. Second-time offenders will be charged $2,000. Third-time offenders will be charged $2,500. They may also spend up to six months in jail. First-time offenders may be able to get the fine waived if they take a distracted driving course within four months of the citation.

Contact Pickett Dummigan McCall LLP 

Accidents can still happen even if you keep your eyes on the road. That is why you may find yourself needing a car accident lawyer in PDX Oreg. A PDX accident attorney will determine whether you are eligible for compensation after reviewing your case. A personal injury lawyer Portland OR can make sure that people are held responsible for their negligence.

 

 

 

 

 

Main Office

main office

210 SW Morrison St. – 4th Floor
Portland, OR 97204

by appointment in Woodburn

1585 N. Pacific Hwy, Suite G
Woodburn, OR 97071
call us

call us

Phone: 503-223-7770
Fax: 503-227-2530
email us

email us